Please share this page with your friends on FB, Twitter or Google+
Marriage, Men and women

Preparing a bride-to-be for Himself

Firstly let me create some context. I don’t have a girlfriend. I haven’t had one for a long while. In fact in my whole life I’ve only ever made a commitment to two women, one of which was my wife. I never actually dated much/at all either.

But I believe that God has someone special for me. So… when wondering about male-female things, I wanted to know His ways, and how He does things.

And so He led me to this verse. It popped out at me, and the meaning was abundantly clear to me, I knew what I had to do for her…

25Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her 26to make her holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through the word, 27and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless. – Eph 5:25-27

The key: Husbands… love JUST AS Christ did… so how did He love His wife? I see two things…

  1. Jesus Christ cleansed His bride-to-be on the cross, loooong before you and I knew Him. In fact same way we are to pray for our brides-to-be perhaps loooong before she knows us (or meets us again, or perhaps she is already with us – whatever).
  2. Jesus Christ then presents her to Himself. She is prepared, why? Because of His “washing of water through the word”. And in our cases – as mortal men – that means washing our bride to be (before she is even with us!) in the water that flows from Jesus Christ.

I take that personally. I am praying for her, preparing her to be presented to me.

In the marriage story of Jesus Christ and His bride – according to Jewish custom – He went away to prepare a place for His bride in His Father’s house.

According to Jewish custom it is ONLY when the FATHER sees the preparations are ready and His Son is ready, THEN the Father gives the go-ahead for the groom to go fetch His bride-to-be.

It’s pretty cool, isn’t it? 🙂

About Mark Wilson

I am a prayer missionary. Please subscribe, consider donating to support this ministry, leave a comment and stay in touch via FB or Twitter. God bless you :)

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Preparing a bride-to-be for Himself

  1. Well said, Mark. Love the thoughts!

    Posted by Derek Guyer | December 6, 2009, 9:18 pm
  2. Thanks for this excellent post, Mark! It’s so easy to get caught up in the technical details of a relationship and forget what the reason we love to begin with — because HE first loved us — and gave Himself up for us!

    Also, how neat that a man realizes the need to pray for his wife-to-be. So often, it seems that the guy just waits for the woman to kind of waltz into his life instead of being intentional and prayerful) about it.

    God bless!
    Jenn

    Posted by Jenn Joshua | December 23, 2009, 4:31 pm
  3. I so agree with the need to pray for our wives. My wife has told me she needs my prayers and feels protected by my prayers. So I pray for her often. Sometimes I fast and pray all night for her and I get to enjoy her gentle love and deep concern for me.

    Posted by Rick Supplee | February 16, 2010, 1:29 pm
  4. I wish I had been told that advice way before I got married. In my marriage we struggle with what the cultural standards are and what biblical standards are. The lines aren’t so clear sometimes, and compromises can become the norm when we are not careful. Having your heart for GOD is an awesome first step. We have been learning through the Love&Respect book/video series of how we have been misunderstanding one another. It has changed my view of myself as a man. It has given me new standards and a new direction for growth. This is a “must-do” series for people in a relationship or wanting a relationship.

    Posted by Eric | March 10, 2010, 9:44 am
  5. Hi…
    This post is very nice for those believe in God. God is special for all. Thank for sharing this .

    Posted by Christian Men | March 24, 2010, 11:04 am
  6. Hi!
    This is awesome views about Christian Men.
    Thanks for reading.

    Posted by vikas | June 3, 2010, 12:06 pm
  7. Hello, I just popped over here because I’m having issues finding a man to date that thinks this way (I’m not hitting on you, I was looking for advice) …. I don’t know if you know this or not, maybe you do? But there are flicker pictures of fully naked men on the right side of your page. Homo road and Gay pals?? I need to go burn my eyes out! Very conflicting messages you’ve got going on here, I don’t know what to think about that.

    Posted by Anonymous | June 16, 2010, 11:03 pm
    • Hi anonymous. Thanks for leaving a comment. You didn’t add your email address, so I can’t reply to you?! Yes I know that SOMETIMES dodgy images show up in the flickr side bar thing. I can’t control it, or stop it. I’m not the one doing it, so it’s not my confusing message 🙂

      However, since it has been mentioned more than once, I imagine it’s happening a lot and I don’t know it. So I will remove the app.

      Thanks again and all the best with your search for a good guy! And just remember, we are all broken and fallen and even this good guys (me!) will disappoint you at some point. There is an excellent book called “Everyone is normal until you get to know them”.

      God bless you,
      Mark.

      Posted by Mark Wilson | June 17, 2010, 2:07 pm

Please take a moment to share this page on Google+, Facebook and Twitter. Email it to your friends. Sharing is caring.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 349 other followers

My writing…

Faith + Hope + Love - loving God, loving others, loving yourself

Pray For Your City - revival in YOUR city

Christian Men - building up one another into His image

Cool Verses - Great scriptures that I enjoy

My YouTube videos - more than 20 mashups to enjoy

Website Design - support this ministry by letting me build your website(s), or donate

My Facebook, Tumblr, Delicious, Scribd, Twitter, LinkedIn.
