Please share this page with your friends on FB, Twitter or Google+
Family, Husbands

The best thing you can do for your children

Recently I spent some time with a wonderfully loving family. Today I was talking with my relationship counselor, asking what it takes to grow such incredibly happy and compliant children as that family has.

It’s not luck when you have THREE great kids. One or two could be genetic, but not three. Three means that the family has done something right.

My counselor said this incredibly wise thing to me… the greatest gift a parent can give to their kids… is to love the other parent.

Wow. So true. The kids grow up in a safe environment. They learn to recognize good love. They see respect being modeled to them. The know to find another person who will respect them or want them. They grow up with balance and safety.

I guess this is why the bible says:

Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her – Eph 5:25

Even so husbands should love their wives as [being in a sense] their own bodies. – Eph 5:28

He who loves his own wife loves himself. – Eph 5:28

But the bible has EVEN MORE good things to suggest about how we can relate to one another! (These are paraphrased from Eph 5:15-21)

Live purposefully and worthily and accurately, not as the unwise and witless, but as wise (sensible, intelligent people), making the very most of the time [buying up each opportunity]

do not be vague and thoughtless and foolish, but understanding and firmly grasping what the will of the Lord is.

At all times and for everything giving thanks in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ to God the Father.

Be subject to one another out of reverence for Christ (the Messiah, the Anointed One).

(Paraphrased from Eph 5:15-21)

Look at the wonderful lives that God wants us to live. It’s extravagant and exciting. For some of us (me included) it seems a long way off. But it’s not. Every journey begins with one step. One person. One “thanks honey!”. One smile. One hug.

We can do it!

About Mark Wilson

I am a prayer missionary. Please subscribe, consider donating to support this ministry, leave a comment and stay in touch via FB or Twitter. God bless you :)

Discussion

3 thoughts on “The best thing you can do for your children

  1. Great post Mark!

    I completely agree – children grow up so well when it is in an environment of both parents loving each other as the Bible instructs. It sets the foundation and the precedent for the whole family. It’s so good that you have understood this now, before you are married with your own children. Bless you!

    In His care,

    Emily

    P.S. I love spending time with wonderful, loving Christian families – aren’t they just such a blessing to be around?!

    Posted by Emily | April 11, 2007, 9:27 am
  2. An incredible blessing, yes! A source of wisdom and encouragement.

    Posted by Mark Wilson | April 11, 2007, 9:54 am
  3. Agreed. In one breath, I’ll say that I love and hate to see how my son models me and watches everything I do. It’s flattering and downright scary all at once.

    What am I showing him? Am I willing to admit when I’ve screwed up? Does he know I love mommy from how I treat her?

    If my kids never see me love my wife, they’re likely to have a hard time doing it themselves when it’s their turn. Thank God for my parents who taught me how to do this with my own wife by modeling it for me.

    Posted by cutfromtherock | April 12, 2007, 4:50 am

Please take a moment to share this page on Google+, Facebook and Twitter. Email it to your friends. Sharing is caring.

