Please share this page with your friends on FB, Twitter or Google+
Man's Heart

I Guess There Is Hope For Me

He’s lied. He’s deceived his own father. He’s slept with his own daughter-in-law all while thinking she was a prostitute. He’s stolen from his brother and dishonored his father. Yet, God says to Jacob:

10 “Your name is Jacob, but you will no longer be called Jacob; your name will be Israel. ” So he named him Israel. 11 And God said to him, “I am God Almighty; be fruitful and increase in number. A nation and a community of nations will come from you, and kings will come from your body. 12 The land I gave to Abraham and Isaac I also give to you, and I will give this land to your descendants after you.”

If God can take a man like this and use him for his own glory, what can he do with sinners like you and I? Are their any limits?

Rise up, brothers. You are His sons. You have been made “in his image” and “cut from the rock”. Rise up and live as men of God. You serve the God of Jacob.

About Derek Guyer

Well, I'm married, have three sons and three daughters and love my family! Those things mean more to you than you'll ever know, but it wasn't until recently that I really began to grasp that I was made in the image of God. That may not seem very big to you, but to me that meant I didn't have to be a poser anymore. I get to live for the glory of God instead of trying to be what others want or expect me to be. I get to do some art on the side and pray that my use of this talent gives glory to my Father in Heaven! I hope you enjoy my work and give glory to God for all of it!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “I Guess There Is Hope For Me

  1. Amen bro. Good word.

    Posted by Mark Wilson | April 5, 2007, 12:34 am
  2. It’s a great post. God can do wonders. What he did for Jacob, he will do for us.
    There are two qualities of Jacob that are note worthy. He was honest with God and he sought God’s blessing earnestly. Genesis 32:26-30
    By the way, it was Judah, who failed with Tamar and Jesus still chose to come from that family line. Isn’t our God awesome?
    He gives beauty for ashes.

    Posted by Stan | April 13, 2007, 5:49 am

Please take a moment to share this page on Google+, Facebook and Twitter. Email it to your friends. Sharing is caring.

