Please share this page with your friends on FB, Twitter or Google+
David, Faith

Just a Stone

I’d like to take you to a favorite place of mine in scripture. You’re likely to know the story well and have it marked as a favorite of your own; it’s the story of David and Goliath. This story is always striking to me, but as I’m facing my own giants, this one particularly speaks to me right now.

David has just been sent in by the King to face the giant and he’s turned down Saul’s battle gear and opted for his own staff, sling, and a few rocks he’s picked up on the way to the fight. For someone outside of faith, my guess is that this part of the story is almost laughable…he’s facing a nine foot tall man and decides to take his pet rock into battle. Can’t you just hear an unbeliever mocking him?

But, we know the real story and that’s where we’ll pick up:

“He looked David over and saw that he was only a boy, ruddy and handsome, and he despised him. He said to David, “Am I a dog, that you come at me with sticks?” And the Philistine cursed David by his gods. “Come here,” he said, “and I’ll give your flesh to the birds of the air and the beasts of the field!”

Let me interrupt and say, “I’m terrified and I’m just reading the story.” But, let’s continue:

David said to the Philistine, “You come against me with sword and spear and javelin, but I come against you in the name of the LORD Almighty, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. This day the LORD will hand you over to me, and I’ll strike you down and cut off your head. Today I will give the carcasses of the Philistine army to the birds of the air and the beasts of the earth, and the whole world will know that there is a God in Israel. All those gathered here will know that it is not by sword or spear that the LORD saves; for the battle is the LORD’s, and he will give all of you into our hands.”

As the Philistine moved closer to attack him, David ran quickly toward the battle line to meet him. Reaching into his bag and taking out a stone, he slung it and struck the Philistine on the forehead. The stone sank into his forehead, and he fell facedown on the ground. So David triumphed over the Philistine with a sling and a stone; without a sword in his hand he struck down the Philistine and killed him.

David ran and stood over him. He took hold of the Philistine’s sword and drew it from the scabbard. After he killed him, he cut off his head with the sword. I Sam. 17:41-51

Now, tell me what you’re facing, that with faith in God, the God of David, you can’t overcome. What in your life is so terrifying, so crippling, or so vast, that when you come against it in the name of the Lord God Almighty, you can’t conquer it?

About Derek Guyer

Well, I'm married, have three sons and three daughters and love my family! Those things mean more to you than you'll ever know, but it wasn't until recently that I really began to grasp that I was made in the image of God. That may not seem very big to you, but to me that meant I didn't have to be a poser anymore. I get to live for the glory of God instead of trying to be what others want or expect me to be. I get to do some art on the side and pray that my use of this talent gives glory to my Father in Heaven! I hope you enjoy my work and give glory to God for all of it!

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Just a Stone

  1. Dude, what an awesome story. It does seem like the enemy is limitless at times. And I must confess that I feel that way now. With a heart that is hardened and a soul lying in its own uselessness. It is extremely hard to get back up, but I do. Eventually. It is simply because I do not trust Him, I slip and it becomes even harder to hold the line. As though I could by myself at all. It is hard to trust, because of the fear. It is hard to concquer the fear because of unbelief. It is hard to believe, because we are weak. We are sheep that have gone astray. Thank you for your words of encouragement brother. Please pray for me.

    Posted by Calvin Thompson | March 16, 2007, 6:40 pm
  2. Thanks for the feedback, Calvin. You aren’t the only one with those struggles, brother. Satan is a great liar and he’s got you snowed. You’re so busy thinking what a waste you are or how much you screw up, you’re missing that God has covered all of that through Jesus. We are more than conquerors.

    Take your eyes of the storm and fix them on Jesus. He’s the author and finisher of your faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, despising its shame and who has now sat down at the right hand of the Father. He now intercedes for you and lives in you. Live like you believe, Calvin. Believe.

    Posted by cutfromtherock | March 16, 2007, 6:47 pm
  3. Yes, I know. It is good to know that others are struggling with lust. It is not good to struggle with it. Each little set back adds up in your mind and chokes out all of the good things that you do. And it is especially hard to focus on Jesus, when you are caught behind enemy lines surrounded and bombarded. Sometimes I do good, but it is without endurance and I honestly just do not know what to do…

    Posted by Calvin Thompson | March 17, 2007, 3:27 pm
  4. Man, I have been there. That’s not just your struggle brother and don’t ever let yourself think anything else. We’re all struggling and a humble honest admittance of our guilt and problems is essential to the problem being dealt with as God would have it.

    Confess your sins to God. Open your heart to his saving grace. Lean not on your own understanding, but fix your eyes on Jesus. Look at him. In every way, give thanks to the Lord. If you want to overcome, lay aside that sin that’s killing you and pursue the face of God. Pursue his righteousness and his people. Don’t allow yourself to be bogged down in the sin, but lift your head up to see Him.

    God, you know I’ve been in this same position as Calvin on a daily basis. You know how much I can sympathize with his struggles. Purify my brother and cleanse him. Remind him of your love and your forgiveness. Shine your face upon him and give him peace. You are the author and perfector of our faith. Perfect my brother in your holiness. Remind him he’s not alone.

    Posted by cutfromtherock | March 17, 2007, 4:20 pm
  5. This is why I have started to prepare for a class tailored around the ole AA format. Sinner’s Anonymous is the name I have decided upon, and with Mark Hatfield’s help we whittled the 12 steps down to 8 steps. I am hoping that through me opening up about this, it will lose its power on me. I am so glad that the Lord is rich in mercy… Love you brother

    Posted by Calvin Thompson | March 17, 2007, 11:48 pm
  6. This is great – Christian brothers encouraging one another. God rocks.

    Posted by Mark Wilson | March 19, 2007, 6:37 am
  7. Great stuff, Calvin. I love the idea and would love to talk about it more.

    Posted by Derek Guyer | March 19, 2007, 1:36 pm
  8. Hey Calvin.

    Check out my latest post. It’s my 2c on what you and Derek have been chatting about.

    God bless,
    Mark.

    Posted by Mark Wilson | March 21, 2007, 2:26 am

Please take a moment to share this page on Google+, Facebook and Twitter. Email it to your friends. Sharing is caring.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 349 other followers

My writing…

Faith + Hope + Love - loving God, loving others, loving yourself

Pray For Your City - revival in YOUR city

Christian Men - building up one another into His image

Cool Verses - Great scriptures that I enjoy

My YouTube videos - more than 20 mashups to enjoy

Website Design - support this ministry by letting me build your website(s), or donate

My Facebook, Tumblr, Delicious, Scribd, Twitter, LinkedIn.
