Please share this page with your friends on FB, Twitter or Google+
Man's Heart

Who Are You?

“Listen to me, you who pursue righteousness and who seek the Lord:

Look to the rock from which you were cut and to the quarry from which you were hewn.” Isaiah 51:1

If God says you were cut from the rock, what does that mean to you? Who are you? Better yet, who is the Lord, the rock from which you were cut?

About Derek Guyer

Well, I'm married, have three sons and three daughters and love my family! Those things mean more to you than you'll ever know, but it wasn't until recently that I really began to grasp that I was made in the image of God. That may not seem very big to you, but to me that meant I didn't have to be a poser anymore. I get to live for the glory of God instead of trying to be what others want or expect me to be. I get to do some art on the side and pray that my use of this talent gives glory to my Father in Heaven! I hope you enjoy my work and give glory to God for all of it!

Discussion

One thought on “Who Are You?

  1. Yes, a profound question. It’s also related to “what do you REALLY think God’s character is?” If we fake ourselves, avoid the truth… then we don’t grow.

    So I believe this bible verse is saying that it helps to realise who we are and where we came from. Literally, the bible verse is telling the people to remember that they came from Abraham and Sarah and that God prospered Abraham for having faith in Him, so God can also prosper us if we have faith in Him.

    Is 51:12 “I, yes I, am the one who comforts you.
    So why are you afraid of mere humans,
    who wither like the grass and disappear?
    Is 51:13 Yet you have forgotten the Lord, your Creator,
    the one who stretched out the sky like a canopy
    and laid the foundations of the earth.
    Will you remain in constant dread of human oppressors?

    But there is also more. We are being remade into God’s image, into His perfect image – the bible says so! Sin has twisted our image, but when we come to Christ we are remade into His image.

    What is His image? Who do you think He is? I think He is powerful, yes an adventurer, a good father, a powerful Person, a capable person, an honest and integrous person.

    I think it’s awesome that you, Derek, are encouraging me to look at HIm and accept and embrace that I’m being remade into HIS image. I can embrace that. RUN with it. ENJOY it.

    God bless you for that,
    Mark.

    Posted by Mark Wilson | March 15, 2007, 6:48 am

Please take a moment to share this page on Google+, Facebook and Twitter. Email it to your friends. Sharing is caring.

