Please share this page with your friends on FB, Twitter or Google+
David, Faith, Hunting, Man's Heart

Facing the Lion

I like to pick books up from time to time and just read a chapter or a few pages at a time to spur my thinking. I used to read books endlessly and in the past couple of years, I’ve found myself digging for the gems that really hit me.

Recently, I’ve been picking at a good book bought for me by a buddy of mine called the Four Pillars of a Man’s Heart by Stu Weber. Halfway through the book, Weber describes an elk hunting expedition where in the midst of the hunt, he walked into a 10-foot square clearing in which he caught eyes with a mountain lion standing over a young elk calf. The lion had broken the calfs neck and was ready to feast when Weber walked in on dinner.

The lions “big yellow eyes narrowed into slits as he regarded me. I’m sure his pulse rate was up, too. Big cougars will normally spend a lifetime without being seen by a human, let along one at a range of ten feet- during lunch hour! The cougar’s eyes betrayed no fear, only seething hostility. His dusty yellow ears had dropped down flat to his skull-like a tom cat in an alley fight. Only I didn’t feel like any threatening tom. I felt more like an itty-bitty kitty, wishing to be excused from this unwanted encounter. And I really didn’t want to fight. Yeah, I had a rifle. But at that range, I figured I might have time for just one shot.”

I can’t say I’ve been there, but there have many times in my journey where I feel as though I’m unequipped to handle the mountain lion in front of me and I have to admit yesterday was one of those days for me. I came face to face with my fears and while I wasn’t crippled, I felt defeated.

Amazingly, all throughout scripture, men of God were faced with lions, bears, and giants. But, of all of the stories God has left for us I believe the one that strikes me most is that of the fearless little shepherd boy, David, facing the Philistine Giant. His faith and confidence in God was amazing. “The LORD who delivered me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear will deliver me from the hand of this Philistine.” I Sam 17:37

While I was wounded yesterday, not beat, I woke this morning with a new resolve and a fresh feeling of God’s mercy and grace on my heart and am experiencing his strength working in me as I see him working in my own favor. I faced the lion yesterday and while I trembled at his sight, my God was victorious. It’s been a long journey, but to the praise of my God, the God of David, I’m alive and I am His.

About Derek Guyer

Well, I'm married, have three sons and three daughters and love my family! Those things mean more to you than you'll ever know, but it wasn't until recently that I really began to grasp that I was made in the image of God. That may not seem very big to you, but to me that meant I didn't have to be a poser anymore. I get to live for the glory of God instead of trying to be what others want or expect me to be. I get to do some art on the side and pray that my use of this talent gives glory to my Father in Heaven! I hope you enjoy my work and give glory to God for all of it!

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Facing the Lion

  1. Awesome and encouraging testimony brother!

    Did anyone else find his sharing encouraging? This is the time to speak up and encourage one another. Build each other up.

    Yes, I often think that when the Israelites went into the promised land, they had to defeat giants. In our walk, in our marriages, in our relationships and especially in our healing… we have to defeat giants.

    If we will not go against those giants, then we cannot have the promised land. It sucks, but it’s true.

    Posted by Mark Wilson | March 12, 2007, 4:12 am
  2. Yep definetly encouraging thanks cutfromtherock.
    I havent encourtered any lions or giants…or if I did i had my eyes closed as i went…scary to think we have to go against them but God is with us.God chose what is weak in the world to shame the strong.
    What does it mean ‘the paw of the bear will deliver me’ ?
    Praise God

    Posted by paul | March 12, 2007, 9:55 pm
  3. Thanks for stopping by, Paul. I love the verse you quoted about God choosing to use the weak in this world to shame the strong. That verse speaks volumes to me at this point in my life and the “lion” I faced. I had no idea what I was coming up against, but God did and used the weaker to make foolish and shame the stronger and I’m sure will continue to do so. I think the key at this point is to remain humble so that I’m the weak one rather than the one God is shaming.

    That scripture in I Sam. 17 wasn’t saying that the paw of the bear would deliver him. David was saying he had been delivered from the paw of the bear and the lion with the power of the Lord, and that the Lord would deliver him from the giant as well.

    Does that make better sense?

    Posted by cutfromtherock | March 12, 2007, 10:21 pm
  4. AH that makes more sense! so the LORD will deliver from the paw of the lion AND the paw of the bear! and now the philistine too! cool 😀
    Thanks for replying so quick and for the email too.
    So we can read from that God who helped us before will be there for us in the future against the rest of the lions and bears. Remain humble yes i see what you mean. Too many people are not humble and want to use authority they say they have from Jesus instead of relying on him to help them in each case. God is so good
    well i gotta run now.
    Thanks again.

    Posted by paul | March 12, 2007, 10:58 pm
  5. I can relate to this as I am facing 2 really big giants right now. One involves my son and the other involves my wife’s upcoming surgery. Yet, all day the Lord has told me “the battle is mine,” so I have to hold onto that promise.
    Great post, my brother.

    Posted by john | March 13, 2007, 10:37 am
  6. John, I’m praying for your wifes surgery and look forward to hearing back from you with news. The battle is the Lords and I’m glad it is. I can’t do it without him and trying to do so seems to foolish and wasted.

    Praise God for making us overcomers!

    Posted by cutfromtherock | March 13, 2007, 1:52 pm
  7. Go for it John, trust in the Lord. He is able to do what He says, no one can stop His plans from happening.

    Posted by Mark Wilson | March 14, 2007, 12:52 am

Please take a moment to share this page on Google+, Facebook and Twitter. Email it to your friends. Sharing is caring.

